facebook Join Our Mailing List

About Hillel

Brandeis University’s reputation for the involvement and activism of its students, its strong, student-led campus life, and its excellence as a center for teaching and research make the Brandeis campus one of the most dynamic and influential Jewish campus communities in the world.

Hillel is the nerve center of that Jewish community, and its mission is to promote individual student growth as well as enrich the life of the campus as a whole. Hillel at Brandeis supports over 20 student clubs, performing arts groups, and special project committees each year.

Board of Directors

Hillel at Brandeis’ Board of Directors is the governing body of Hillel at Brandeis. It is composed of dedicated alumni, parents, current students, faculty, staff, and friends of Hillel at Brandeis, has fiduciary and legal accountability for its operations, and is responsible for ensuring that Hillel at Brandeis fulfills its mission.


David Abelman ’82, P’11
Louis Benjamin ’78 – Co-President
Michael Berger ’02
Sue Fischlowitz ’68, P’03, P’10
Jonathan Horowitz ’06 – Treasurer
Rachel Mayo ’14 – Student President
Ariel Kagedan ’16
Samuel Mendales
Donnie Phillips ’06 – Clerk
Samantha Pohl ’05
Reuben Posner ’05 – Vice President
Janna Rosenberg ’02
James Shane
Harry Waizer P’10, P’11 – Co-President
Nancy Winship P’10, P’13

Student Executive Board

Hillel’s Student Executive Board is comprised of students who have been elected by the student body at Brandeis University to work with Hillel’s member groups and the entire campus community to provide rich opportunities for student growth and experiences on campus.

Student Board

Rachel Mayo ’14 – President
Ariel Kagedan ’16 – Finance Coordinator
Shayna Rubenstein ’16 – Communications Coordinator
Zevvy Goldish ’15 – Education Coordinator
Aaron Fineberg ’15 – Religious Life Coordinator
Eliana Rosenthal ’16 – Shabbat and Festival Meals Coordinator
Dani Nurick ’16 – Social and Cultural Events Coordinator
Hannah Leeman ’16 – Israel Programs Coordinator
Dina Kritz ’15 – Tzedek/Social Justice Coordinator
Rachel Strax ’14 – Campus Relations Coordinator
Liora Zhrebker ’17 – First Year Representative
Liran Messinger ’17 – First Year Representative